Teifi Valley Motor Club Limited - TVMC

Classic Tracks Rally

Wednesday 05 Jun 2013 [16:01]

Talk about keeping it in the family and in the same village .Partners Wyn Owens and Jenny Evans of Rhydlewis (both TVMC members) are the Classic Tracks 2013 winners, organised by the Llandysul Motor Club Ltd. Others in the top three in various classes are related to the winners and also from Rhydlewis Meredith Roberts, Stuart Roberts and Michael Roberts.

The rally commenced and finished at Parcau Farm, Penrhiwllan by kind permission of the Jukes Family and saw 75 competitors from experts to novices taking part in the 100 mile annual rally. The rally offered a unique special test venue at Parcau Farm and was an ideal spectator point as it was set in a natural amphitheatre. 90% plus of the test could be seen from the large elevated viewing area and plenty of excitement was to be seen there throughout the day.

' It was a great success,' explained Jamie Jukes who would like to see the annual event becoming more family friendly. He added: ' It was not only a roaring success for the Llandysul Motor Club but also for the Penrhiwllan Carnival Committee who worked hard during the day on the catering side. The competitors had a good time and we hope to stage the event here next year with the possibility of making it more family friendly by introducing a bouncy castle and such to keep the children entertained.'

Winner Jenny, a keen navigator was delighted with the win.

She said with a grin: ' Wyn and I are very happy with the win and the route through Parcau Farm was very testing. We thoroughly enjoyed it. The first, second and third competitors in class three are father and two sons, they all live in the village of Rhydlewis and are related to my partner Wyn! So it was a very good day in all and we most definitley kept it in the family!'

To raise money for the Gareth 'Jaffa' Roberts Memorial Fund, an opportunity arose for the highest bidder on ebay to sit with experienced driver, Dan Lwni. The highest bidder at auction was Aled Evans from Saron who paid £275 for the spin.

Results: Overall winners: Wyn Owens and Jenny Evans. Class 1: Arwyn Thomas and Jade Phillips (Jade also wiped the board at Cothi Bridge Agricultural Show the previous day showing her British Blue cattle).2: Edryd Evans and Dafydd Evans. 3: Gavin Rogers and Georgina Clark. Class 2: Chris Hand and Mike James;2: Tim Hand and Steven Thomas; 3: Mathew Hatch and Angharad Rees. Class 3: Gethin Jones and Meredith Roberts; 2: Stuart Roberts and Hefin Jones; 3:James Ifans-Morris and Michael Roberts. Best 4 wheel drive: Gethin Dafis and Aled Jones. Best mixed crew: Dorian Evans and Joanna Bond. Best Under 1400: Gari Evans and Sam Vernon.


teifivalleymotorclub.co.uk - Sun 21 Jan 2018 06:57:35