Teifi Valley Motor Club Limited - TVMC

Rali Cilwendeg Rally Review

Rali Cilwendeg Rally Review
Sunday 09 Dec 2012 [20:19]

The Teifi Valley Motor Club Gareth 'Jaffa' Roberts Memorial Cilwendeg Rally was most definitley a night for the Astras as driver John 'Tyres' Davies and navigator Eurig Davies in car nine took the overall title winning the TVMC Cilwendeg Perpetual Challenge Trophy. This was the fourth time for TVMC member and mechanic John to win the Cilwendeg in fine form.

John won the Cilwendeg in 2006, 08 and 09, and as the native of Llandysul explains, he will be out again next year, trying to retain his title in his eye catching green machine.

' I'm delighted. It was a fast rally and all on tarmac. It was also challenging as there were many time controls and a lot of stopping and starting. But I really enjoyed it. It's also great that my close friend, Jamie Jukes completed the rally, also in an Astra, and came first in class and fifth overall. The Astras were really leading the way at the Cilwendeg,' said John.

Tensions were high as some of the best drivers and navigators from the locality and further afield battled it out over the weekend. It was a hotly contested competition with high expectations for the 2011 Cilwendeg winner Kevin Davies, but 2012 wasn't his year and he was sadly excluded. Second place this year, saw Gethin Morgan of Bryngwyn competing on home territory with navigator Steve Herbert. Gethin was on form even though he hasn't competed much this year due to work commitments. Car two, Meirion Evans with navigator Iwan Jones, lost valuable time when he left the road and had to settle for third place. Fourth position went to Capel Iwan's Dyfrig James and Emyr Jones in car 22.

Keen and dedicated driver Jamie Jukes, a Llandysul Motor Club member exceeded all expectations by finishing the rally first in his class and fifth place overall in his Astra. Originally starting in 40th position, Jamie of Penrhiwllan and his navigator Anthony Davies of Llandysul tackled the country lanes in style.

The event was sponsored by Wales Motorsport Fabrication.


teifivalleymotorclub.co.uk - Sun 21 Jan 2018 06:57:54