Teifi Valley Motor Club Limited - TVMC

Cilwendeg Rally Report

Cilwendeg Rally Report
Thursday 31 Oct 2013 [18:10]

Weather conditions couldn't really be much worse for the annual Cilwendeg Road Rally organised by the Teifi Valley Motor Club (TVMC) and sponsored by Meirion Evans of Wales Motorsport Fabrication torrential rain, strong winds and a lot of mud made driving conditions treacherous, but this didn't deter the keen competitors for making the event a memorable one.

Overall winner of the 2013 event was Kevin Davies and Dale Bowen, who gave a spectacular display at the new special test track in Penrhiwllan, with previous Cilwendeg winner, driver Daniel Jones and Gerwyn Barry winning class one in fine form. Dyfrig James and Emyr Jones were in second with Peter Collins and Hefin Jones in third position.

This year, the Cilwendeg, which had 75 cars competing, offered the driver and navigator a completely new experience with special test tracks at various locations at Spencers in Penrhiwllan, at Gwarnant and Dolgoch Farms and at the site of the Beulah Car Boot sale before heading onto the country roads. Hundreds of spectators braved the weather and turned out to see the competitors tackle dreadful conditions, challenging routes and ploughed up whites.

' I can only say a massive thank you to all our team for such a valiant nights work. Unexpected things unfolded due to the weather which was a challenge to manage....but I think we pulled together and did the best that could be done on the night. We managed to get four out of the five tests to run which was no mean feat. The night part of the rally went well and most crews enjoyed it ' explained one of the Clerks, Gary Robbins. He added: 'The TVMC would like to thank Meirion Evans for his support and sponsorship once again and a big thank you to the test owners for their help and support....all land and home owners en route. Finally, to the marshals who stood out in the weather and carried out duties....without whom, the rally would not run.'

And Mark Lloyd, also Clerk of the Course added: ' Thank you also to the Newcastle Emlyn Rugby Club for allowing us to host the start of the rally there and for the Lamb at Rhos for ending the rally there and giving us breakfast. It is much appreciated.'

In the Experts class, talented drive Garry Lewis and friend Steven Hicks drove in style to win with second place being awarded to the successful pair of Wyn Owens and Jenny Evans of Rhydlewis. Richard Williams and Alex Crowley finished in third. In the Semi Experts / Novices, winners were Huw Tagg and Michael Williams, second Daniel Thomas and Darren Jones with Llion Rees and Iwan Griffiths in third. The Best Presented Car Award went to Steven John Williams and Lowri Davies in their Ford Escort with Delfryn Owens and Fiona Balchin being awarded the Mixed Crew Award. Geraint Davies and Iwan Williams won the Under 1600cc Award and Jon Stobbs and James Rees won the Best Performance Award by a Local Crew with Matthew Broadbent and Joe Cruttenden being the last place finishers.


teifivalleymotorclub.co.uk - Thu 18 Jan 2018 19:30:59